CANADA/ Arlyn Awards 2014


The Arlyn Award is a world-wide search for „truly outstanding“ design in puppet theatre. It is an international contest and is awarded biennially. The recipient in 2012 was the UK’s Jonathan Storey’s 2010 production Jack Pratchard.

The Arlyn Award for Outstanding Design in Puppet Theatre and the prize endowment fund are administered by the Arlyn Award Society, an independent, charitable-tax status society registered in British Columbia, Canada. The Arlyn Award is for an individual production, not a designer’s body of work.

Every two years the Society’s Board of Directors selects a three-member international jury. Each jury sets their own criteria and their decision is final and cannot be altered by the Board of Directors.

The Arlyn Award Society now calls for entries to the 2014 Arlyn Award for Outstanding Design in Puppet Theatre.

Deadline: 15th February 2014

Eligible productions must have been premiered in 2012 or 2013. Any puppeteer, anywhere in the world, is eligible to enter. The Arlyn Award consists of a trophy and a cash prize, at present, of approximately US$ 1000.

To enter, submit a brief paragraph of the designer’s goal for the production, up to ten illustrations of designs and production photographs, and a five-minute (maximum) video in Flash format showing the production’s design in action. For full terms see:

Not more than one Arlyn Award may be awarded in a competition. All entries remaining into the final round of judging receive an Arlyn Citation of Design.

Send entry submissions to:

Arlyn Award Society

2012-13 Competition

c/o 4348 Coastview Drive

Garden Bay, BC

V0N 1S1


All submitted materials will be retained by the Arlyn Award Society in a research collection.

For Information on the Arlyn Award and photos of past recipients, please visit